Dichotomous Spaces: The Natural and the Urban

For a couple of centuries now, critics have been blasting urban spaces for their pollution and their noise and their falsity.  Naturalists seem to hate cities.  Yet this past week I made an introspective discovery of why I too have been so drawn to the majestic beauty of our Earth.  I think that being an urbanist offers me a greater opportunity to truly enjoy the change of pace and develop of fuller appreciation for both types of spaces.  Whilst walking through the red clay mountains and the cacti and the hummingbirds of the Catalina Foothills in Arizona, it did feel good to breath less polluted air and to listen to natural sounds.  For me, that is the joy of travel.

DSCF2068 Sunset over Upper Hutt

Some people can make a life in the wilderness but that just is not me.  I love the hustle of people.  I love the amenities.  I love the old buildings (blighted and refurbished).  I love the lights.  Travelling allows me appreciate the Earth’s resources and makes me a more mindful urban citizen.  It also nourishes a spiritual part of me that really connects with running rivers and beaming mountains and twinkling stars.  All in all, life is about balance.  People in the city should not judge and criticize those that live in rural areas because they have different material and emotional motivations.  Likewise, people in rural areas should not judge and criticize those of us who make the urban environment our home.

IMG_3611images

Again, life is about balance.  I feel the most alive when I can compare my experiences hiking up a volcano with my experiences crawling through urban blight.  I feel invigorated when I can compare the silence of a starry night on the North Carolina coast with the noise of a concert festival in downtown Memphis.  I feel inspired when I can compare the unscathed desert sand with a perfectly designed city intersection.  Life is about balancing our urban needs and our natural needs.  Great cities intersperse parks and gardens and water features, but true rejuvenation comes from exiting the urban and entering the natural.  On the contrary, great rural areas should intersperse community centers and performing arts spaces, but true enlightenment comes from experiencing the diversity of people that interact in an urban space.  Together, when mutually reinforcing each other, the natural and the urban can make for a great lifestyle.

Leave a comment